Friday, April 10, 2009

This has nothing to do with anything

Im just mad at people who hate 'dumb rock'
because i will always like coldplay every now and then.

Does music have to be complex to be good?????
i. think. not.

in the meantime
i hope everyone is wonderful
i really want to see sunshine cleaning.
i feel like it will be one of those movies ill go to and it wont be sad or anything but ill just cry the whole time anyway
thank goodness

i bought garden state for the 3rd time today bc people keep stealing my copies
i also bought a 20 movie gift pack of old john wayne movies to watch with my grandpa

does anyone else feel like the weather is SUPER teasing them????
if the weather doesnt CRANK it up soon
i suppose ill live--but ill be mad

im supposed to hang with people today but immmmm reaaaaaally feeling like i should go get a tub of ice cream and snuggle in bed and watch movies all night.
am i a bad person if i ditch plans tonight to be lame and hang out with myself?

my friend kelly invented this thing called 'dating yourself' where you just hang out with yourself and get to know yourself better
ive been doing it a lot lately and im pretty sure that if i can find a guy in man form that is exactly like me we will do GREAT.
im going to take myself on a walk and make myself tea now
---paz

(just to keep language love going: cuna-cradle, poyo- the very last step of descending stairs, or the ledge of a window, and no--it cannot be found in freetranslation.com, i think bc its super from spain or something)

Monday, March 16, 2009

and thats why i <3 mexicans

Spending the afternoon/evening with Nancy, her daughter Amy and Dayne yesterday was fantastic.  We ate chips, salsa, burritos, tacos, drank horchata, and discussed everything from how to say 'glass cup' to the ponderable question, "why are there always so many midgets on spanish television programs?"  

We remain without answers to the latter.  

Glass cup? Vaso de vidrio.

What I found spectacular though, is this phrase, "cachetear la banqueta" which is used specifically in mexico.  The exact translation is something like, to cheek the sidewalk (meaning slamming ones cheek on the sidewalk).

I found it necessary to share only because it was that amuzing.


On a completely different note, I really like this musician:






and this one:



I also find this music really fun to dance around my room to:





also: some of you may know my older brother andrew. hes ridic. and loves veggie subs from subway. so he wrote a ridic song about this. go to:

profile.myspace.com/ashleylovessubway

thats all! i have a million things to do! just got back from florida and the weather was PERFECT. but now im back to reality and coldness and sadness =(

Luckiliy the end of school is just around the corner, then I have my sweet trip to Zacatecas with Nancy and co., then ARGENTINAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I'm not excited at all, can you tell?

<3>



Friday, February 20, 2009

Oi BRASILL

Reasons we should all have friends that hang out in Brasil and send us links to cool videos:

Marcelo D2 (*if you have elderly friends who speak Portuguese, this probably isn't the best song to listen to with them around*~Marcelo d2 is a rapper so duh^slang, sketch content, you know^)




A popular song that was allllllways on the radio when I was in Rio was by the famous Seu Jorge~

*This song is about a woman who spends a bunch of money? Burguesinhaaaa*




Seu Jorge is also known as the wonderful acoustic-david bowie-in portuguese-man hiding in the background of Life Aquatic 

ie--






Thank Goodness.

After getting caught red handed listening to Marcelo D2 in the computer lab during Spanish, a few cool kids stuck around after class and we had a little interchange of good songs/music and I discovered some wonderful finds!~~one of which was this song:

*Leaosinho~little lion (tilde over the a*too lazy to find one*)



you could probably listen to this one with your portuguese-speaking illegitimate children and it would be appropriate so no worries. 

speaking of lions, honestly, when was the last time anyone saw born free?? that movie used to kill me. 

Spanish Word of the Day:

ANHELAR- to yearn for, to long for
-----similar to DESEAR

ejemplo:

Anhelaba que mi esposo fuera contento.

FIN. 

Thursday, February 19, 2009

And thats why I created a blog

Heyyaa
SO: It has occurred to me that blogs are SUPER interesting.
Not only that, but they're convenient, and serve as cool thought-sharing-space-bubbles~
For these reasons I have begun a blog.

MISSION STATEMENT:
los pensamientos de la rubia shall be dedicated to discoveries I make as I dive into learning Spanish and French.  Not just this, though this will be the main purpose, but I plan on posting anything else I find intriguing/amusing.

Today's Lesson--

the subjunctive in spanish vs. french: probably, it is probable

I was sitting in French skimming through the subjunctive rules and regulations in my book, when I stopped at the word  probable.  In French, probable is not to be used with the subjunctive, but rather, with the indicative. 

ie: Il est probable qu'elle a un chat. 
(It is probable that she has a cat.)

So the French use probable, and consider it to mean more than likely  and therefore use l'indicatif with it.

This hit me as confusing because for those of you learning/speaking Spanish, probablemente is coupled in the category of words to be used with subjunctive.

ie: 
Probablemente hayamos terminado a las 10.

Ps-these are ridic examples  I know, cut me some slack *blah im still learning*  jajjajajajaj

So the Spanish take probablemente as unknown, and so the subjunctive is needed.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But enough of the boring stuff!!
I'm drinking mate and avoiding homework like the plague. 

Thank you RYN4zee hizelp. Now I can post my first french advertisement:





merci!